VangVieng is a small town north of Vientiane, on the Nam Song River in Laos. It’s surrounded by striking limestone mountains and caves. ThamPoukham, to the west, is a cave with a blue-green lagoon and a reclining Buddha statue. North is the deep Tham Nam Cave, which has a spring at its entrance. Nearby, ThamXang Cave has a stalactite resembling an elephant. The town is home to 16th- and 17th-century monasteries

Vang Vieng was first settled around 1353 as a staging post between Luang Prabang and Vientiane. Originally named Mouang Song after the body of the deceased King Phra Nha Phao of Phai Naam was seen floating down the river, the town was renamed Vang Vieng during French colonial rule in the 1890s.

Significant expansion of the town and its infrastructure occurred during the 1964-1973 Vietnam War when the US constructed an air force base and runway that was used by Air America. The airstrip was then called “Lima site 6”. The runway has not been built on and can easily be seen via aerial or satellite images located between the main street and the national highway (Route 13). American plane shelters also remain in the area.

Since Laos opened up for tourism in the late 1990s, the town has grown substantially due to the influx of backpacker tourism and associated business development. The town became an established tourism center due to the opportunities for adventure tourism along the Nam Song River and in the spectacular limestone karst landscape surrounding the town.

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *